Monday, April 5, 2010

Penguins Alum to be Part of Final Regular Season Pre-Game Ceremony on Thursday

The Penguins webpage just reported this morning that a total of more than 50 former Penguins players will be in attendance this coming Thursday for the final home game to be played in the Mellon Arena during the regular season.

Among those in attendance will be Hockey Hall of Famer Andy Bathgate, who scored the first goal in Penguins history in a 2-1 loss to Montreal on Oct. 11, 1967 – in a building that was then known as the “Civic Arena.”
Also on hand will be the three Penguins who have won the MVP award at the NHL All-Star Game – Mario Lemieux, Syl Apps and Greg Polis – as well as Hockey Hall of Famers Paul Coffey, Bryan Trottier, Craig Patrick and Larry Murphy and fan favorites such as Jean Pronovost, Dave Burrows, Pierre Larouche and Bryan Watson.

The esteemed list of alums includes the four men who were both players and head coaches for the Penguins – Eddie Olczyk, Rick Kehoe, Ken Schinkel and Gene Ubriaco.
Those of you who will be attending the game on Thursday are asked to be in your seat by 7:20 PM for the pre-game ceremony.  To read more, VISIT THE PENS WEBPAGE.

No comments: